Skip to main content

Team Maxx Media were pleased to be a key sponsor at the the Argus Community Stars Awards this Saturday, which celebrated prestigious award winners

Now in its 14th year, the awards ceremony at the Theatre Royal was a glittering affair, with the very best of Sussex’s unsung heroes honoured for their achievements and outstanding contribution to society. With parents and carers, to local lion-hearts and young sport stars, the afternoon was dedicated to those who have gone beyond the call of duty.

As well as providing sponsorship for the ‘Youth Group of the Year’ award, team Maxx Media enthusiastically offered publicity for the event. Utilising their state-of-the-art digital SmartScreen on Queen’s Road, an attention-grabbing advertisement encouraged residents to buy their copies of the Argus newspaper in support.

‘It was an honour to be involved in such a rewarding ceremony’ said Harry Weston, team Maxx Media’s Media Investment Manager.  “Our category ‘Youth Group of the Year’ was highly contested and there were some incredible and touching achievements, but Streetfunk were very worthy winners.  Their achievements have been outstanding and it was great to see them performing at the beginning of the ceremony too”.

A full write-up about the award ceremony can be obtained through the

List of Winners:

Beyond the Call of Duty Award – Nick Morrison
Business in the Community Award – The Bevy
Carer of the Year – Maria Davey
Charity of the Year – Play Area in Rottingdean Committee
Community Event of the Year – Woodingdean Carnival
Community Star of the Year – Jadey Yesilada
Contribution to Arts and Culture – Hove Plinth
Contribution to Sussex Sport – Albion in the Community
Employee of the Year – Lead Elkin
Grandparent of the Year – Jeannine Brett
Green Person or Project of the Year – The Real Junk Food Project
Parent of the Year – Jemma Peacock
Public Services Award – Dedicated to the Shoreham Airshow First Responders
The Local Hero Award – Rebecca and Paula Woolven
Volunteer of the Year – George Smewing
Young Community Star of the Year – Sam Mangoro
Young Sports Star of the Year – Matt Francis
Youth Group of the Year – Streetfunk
The Courageous Child Award – Florence Leppard, Hunter Hill, Imogen Driscoll, and Darcey Stride

Leave a Reply

Close Menu

Get in touch

Maxx Media Limited
Talbot House, 34 Staple Gardens
Winchester, Hampshire
SO23 8SR

T: +44 (0)2382 514516

All rights reserved Maxx Media Ltd.